4 Stories & Pendulum performance

Sunday 28th April 2019 – 1pm to 2.30pm

Four Stories

1 – 1.30pm

Composed by Joshua Horsley & Jon Aveyard
Rebekah Okpoti – Violin, 3rd floor
Jon Aveyard – Violin, 2nd floor
Madeline Rolinson – lord, Viola & Luke French – Xylophone, 1st floor
Joshua Horsley – Cello & Caitlin Birkett – Glockenspiel, Ground floor

Composers and Sound Artists Joshua Horsley and Jon Aveyard present a new, site-specific music composition and performance through the 4 storeys of the Harris Museum, Art Gallery & Library in Preston.  The composition is performed by a string quartet, distributed across the building’s four floors and explores the architectural and acoustic properties of the Harris, immersing the audience in a uniquely vertical and reverberant sound-world.

The audience is invited to explore multiple floors during the performance, guiding their own listening experience from various positions within the unique architectural acoustics of the Harris.

Pendulum Music

2 – 2.30pm

Sound performance recreated by Rob Mullender

Pendulum Music is a performance conceived by Steve Reich in 1968, which has become a Sound Art classic. The premise is very simple: four or more microphones are released to swing on their cables over the top of speakers, producing pulsing notes of feedback as they pass. The different timing of each ‘pendulum’, along with the different note created by the feedback produces a continuingly shifting of phases and rhythms, only finishing when the microphones have come to rest, resulting in steady tones. As with many works of this kind, the piece exists as a set of instructions rather than a musical score, and sounds different each time it is performed – according to variations in equipment and the acoustics of the space it is performed in.

About the artists

Read more about Rob Mullender’s practice here.

Read more about Josh Horsley’s practice here.

Read more about Jon Aveyard’s practice here

Tickets and Location

This event is free to attend. Please let us know you are attending by signing up at eventbrite here

The Harris Museum and Art Gallery & Library Atrum and Cafe harrismuseum.org.uk